[IUCr Home Page]

1999 ICDD Crystallography Scholarship Recipients

J. Appl. Cryst. (1996). 32, 377-378.

The ICDD Crystallography Scholarship Committee has selected five winners for the 1999 Scholarship program. They are: Byron DeLaBarre, McMaster University, Hamilton, Ontario, Canada; Shannon Patrick Farrell, University of Western Ontario, London, Ontario, Canada; Cora Lind, Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, Georgia; Oshrit Navon, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Beer Sheva, Israel; K. Scott Weil (also a 1998 recipient), Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

Byron DeLaBarre's studies focus on `Determining the Phases for a Difficult Protein Structure.' Shannon Farrell's research involves `Sulphur K- and L-Edge XANES of 3d Transition Metal Sulphides and Silicate and Germanate Glasses.' The exploration of `New Negative Thermal Expansion Materials Related to Cubic ZrW2O8', will be conducted by Cora Lind. Oshrit Navon's thesis research concerns the `Polymorphism and the Influence of Crystal Forces on Molecular Conformation.' K. Scott Weil will continue his `Investigation of the Formation, Structure, and Magnetic Behavior of Compounds in the Nickel-Molybdenum-Nitride System.'

Updated 31st March 1999

Copyright © 1999 International Union of Crystallography

IUCr Webmaster