[IUCr Home Page]

IUCr 1996 17th General Assembly and Congress - Introduction and Opening Ceremony

By invitation of the US National Committee for Crystallography, in collaboration with the American Crystallographic Association, and the US National Academy of Sciences-National Research Council, the Seventeenth General Assembly and International Congress of Crystallography were held at the Washington State Trade and Convention Center, Seattle, USA, 8-17 August 1996.

The meetings were attended by 2311 scientists, 252 accompanying members and 150 exhibitors from 51 countries.

The General Assembly and Congress were opened on the afternoon of 8 August at the Fifth Avenue Theatre. Professor R. F BRYAN, Chairman of the Organizing Committee, chaired the ceremony. The welcoming addresses and the opening address by Professor P. COPPENS, President of the IUCr, were followed by the presentation of the Ewald Prize to Professor M. G. ROSSMANN and the Ewald Address entitled Crystallographic Studies of Virus Structures. There then followed A Musical Entertainment by the Flying Karamazov Brothers. The evening ended with a welcoming reception at the Bell Harbor International Conference Center.

[Next section] [Previous section] [Index] in IUCr 1996 Triennial Report
[1993] [1999] IUCr General Assembly and Congress: Introduction and Opening Ceremony

Updated 8th August 1997

Copyright © 1997 International Union of Crystallography

IUCr Webmaster