[IUCr Home Page]

IUCr 1993 Triennial Report - Ewald Prize

The establishment of the Ewald Prize, for outstanding contributions to the science of crystallography, was announced in February 1986 and was given wide publicity. The name of the Prize was chosen to recognize Professor Ewald's significant contributions to the foundations of crystallography and to the founding of the International Union of Crystallography, especially his services as the President of the Provisional International Crystallographic Committee from 1946 to 1948, as the first Editor of the IUCr's publication Acta Crystallographica from 1948 to 1959, and as the President of the IUCr from 1960 to 1963.

Shortly after the death of Professor Ewald, his family informed the President that Professor Ewald had wished to make a bequest to the IUCr. After consulting Mrs Ewald, this generous bequest, together with a donation from the Ewald family and a further donation from the IUCr, was used as capital for the Ewald Prize. The interest from this capital is used to finance the Prize.

The Prize consists of a medal, a certificate and an award of US$20000 (increased to US$25 000 for 1993). It is presented once every three years during the triennial International Congresses of Crystallography. The first Prize was presented during the Perth Congress, being awarded jointly to Professor J. M. Cowley and Dr A. F. Moodie. The second Ewald Prize was presented during the Bordeaux Congress to Professor B. K. Vainshtein.

In April 1993 it was announced that the third Ewald Prize had been awarded to Professor N. Kato for his outstanding and profound contributions to the dynamical theory of X-ray diffraction of spherical waves by perfect crystals and slightly deformed (nearly perfect) crystals, for the experimental exploitation of these theories towards the characterization of the defect structure of single crystals and for his extraordinary achievements in X-ray diffraction topography. Professor Norio Kato works at the Department of Physics of Meijo University, Nagoya, Japan.

The presentation of the Ewald Prize to Professor Kato will be made during the Congress Opening Ceremony on 21 August.

[Next section] [Previous section] [Index] in IUCr 1993 Triennial Report
[1990] [1996] IUCr Triennial Report: Ewald Prize

Updated 29th March 1997

Copyright © 1993 International Union of Crystallography

IUCr Webmaster