[IUCr Home Page]

IUCr 1993 Minutes of Sixteenth General Assembly

These Minutes have been prepared by M. H. Dacombe, Executive Secretary, under the authority of A. I. Hordvik, General Secretary and Treasurer of the IUCr and Secretary of the General Assembly.

Introduction and list of delegates

Sessions of the General Assembly were held on the evenings of Sunday 22 August, Monday 23 August and Thursday 26 August. It was not found necessary to meet on Saturday 28 August, as originally planned. The following attendance list gives the names of official delegates appointed by the Adhering Bodies and of the alternates who substituted at one or more sessions. Dates of attendance are given in parentheses for those who were not present at every session. The names are listed by the countries to which the respective Adhering Bodies belong, and the number of votes of the Adhering Body is given in parentheses after the name of the country. The names of the Chairmen of the delegations are printed in bold type where they are known; those of alternates are marked by an asterisk. There were no delegates from Argentina, Bulgaria, Mexico, Portugal or Ukraine.

Australia (3): D. C. Creagh, I. E. Grey* (26 August), H. C. Freeman, J. W. White (23 August)

Austria (1): A. Preisinger

Belgium (2): G. H. Evrard, G. S. D. King

Brazil (3): L. Q. D. Amaral, Y. P. Mascarenhas, I. C. Torriani

Canada (3): I. C. Bassignana, M. N. G. James, Y. Le Page

Chile (1): J. L. Garin

China (4): J.-l. Huang, K.-z. Pan, D.-c. Xie (26 August), X.-j. Xu

Croatia (1): B. Kamenar

Czech/Slovak Republics (1): K. Huml

Denmark (1): N. Thorup

Egypt (1): M. S. Ahmed

Finland (1): T. Paakkari

France (4): B. Capelle, Y. Epelboin, R. Fourme, G. Precigoux

Germany (4): J. Felsche, H. R. Hoeche*, H. Küppers (22 and 26 August), P. Paufler

Hungary (1): K. Simon

India (2): K. K. Kannan, K. Lal

Israel (1): F. H. Herbstein (22 and 23 August), M. Kaftory* (26 August)

Italy (3): G. Ferraris, G. Filippini, G. Gilli

Japan (4): O. Nittono, Y. Ohashi, M. Tanaka, M. Tokonami (22 August), T. Yamanaka* (23 and 26 August)

The Netherlands (2): P. T. Beurskens (22 and 26 August), D. Feil, G. A. Wiegers* (23 August)

New Zealand (1): W. T. Robinson

Norway (1): B. Fjaertoft

Poland (1): K. Lukaszewicz

Russia (4): L. A. Aslanov, D. M. Kheiker, W. R. Melik-Adamyan* (23 August), V. I. Simonov (22 and 26 August), B. K. Vainshtein

Serbia (1): S. Stankovic

Slovenia (1): I. Leban

South Africa (2): J. C. A. Boeyens, G. J. Kruger

Spain (3): S. García-Granda, F. Lahoz (22 and 26 August), A. López-Castro

Sweden (2): J. Albertsson, I. Olovsson

Switzerland (2): G. C. Chapuis, H. D. Flack

UK (5): A. C. Bloomer, J. B. Forsyth, J. A. K. Howard, A. J. Smith, D. J. Watkin (23 and 26 August)

USA (5): R. F. Bryan, W. L. Duax, J. Flippen-Anderson, K. Watenpaugh, B. Wuensch

Venezuela (1): M. V. Capparelli (22 and 23 August), D. Gomez de Anderez* (26 August)

Present as members of the Executive Committee: A. Authier (President), A. Kálmán (Vice-President), A. I. Hordvik (General Secretary and Treasurer), M. Nardelli (Immediate Past President), R. Chidambaram, P. W. Codding, P. Coppens, R. Diamond, J. Harada and Yu. T. Struchkov (Ordinary Members). M. H. Dacombe was in attendance as Executive Secretary.

[Next section] [Previous section] [Index] in IUCr 1993 Triennial Report
[1990] [1996] IUCr Minutes of General Assembly

Updated 28th March 1997

Copyright © 1993 International Union of Crystallography

IUCr Webmaster